Always the Big Sister

Left to Right: Kasey, Gabriel, Olivia
My younger siblings.
Left to Right: Kasey, Gabriel, Olivia

I am an older sister, so I know a great deal about compromise, toy repair, and first aid for a nosebleed. Having recently moved away from home, I have found, much to my dismay, that my lectures and anecdotes are being redirected to my two younger roommates. I am aware they don’t need me to warn them about the dangers of going out without warm clothing, or require unsolicited advise on anything.

Left to Right: Priscilla, me, Jazmine
The Roommates Left to Right: Priscilla, me, Jazmine

Even though, having the top bed in a triple room is kind of like being someone’s older sibling. See, you want to get a good look at everything that is happening in the room, just in case something goes wrong or you want to ignore it! Odd numbers inevitably put someone in the middle, so background as an older sibling instantly gives you an edge in bargaining.

View of our shared space
View of our shared space

Although I miss my siblings everyday, my roommates keep me busy. For instance, usually my tool box it used to repair broken dolls, and just the other day I had to (safely) smash open a tuna can with a chisel and hammer, since no one on the floor including us had a can opener.

Luckily, my life on the top bunk has been going well. My two wonderful roommates understand my goofiness and I love them like my own siblings, so long as no one forgets to buy toilet paper I think we’ll be fine.


8 Comments Add yours

  1. remuswang says:

    how sweet you are !!!

    1. Kiara Morales says:

      Thank you, Remus!! ❤

  2. Can Altuglu says:

    What a nice picture of your sisters! Family comes first 🙂

    1. Kiara Morales says:

      Thank you and yes, definitely especially when we are so far apart!

    1. Kiara Morales says:

      Thank you so much, I love them very much! 🙂

  3. Kewen Chen says:

    A nice family , and a neat and clean room, haha

    1. Kiara Morales says:

      haha thank you Kewen, and hopefully our room stays clean when mid-terms come upon us!

Leave a Reply

