3 Reasons Sugar is a Drug

I grew up eating skittles, starburst, cookies, and lots and lots of chocolate. I didn’t twice about it. It’s sweet goodness was so delicious and irresistible that I was hooked, literally. I never thought I was actually, truly hooked on it, but looking back on all those years of brownie and cake eating, I was. And you might be too. Without even realizing it. These are my three reasons why sugar is a drug.sugar

  1. You’ll go through withdrawal if you stop eating it.
  2. You crave it.
  3. Once you start eating it, it’s hard to stop.

Several hours after removing sugar from my diet the withdrawal started to begin. Some of my symptoms included extreme fatigue and severe headaches. I  became very easily irritated. And my cravings for sugar became very intense.

Days went by and my withdrawal symptoms slowly began to subside. After about a week, my energy came back, stronger than ever. Looking back on all those years of sugar eating, I realize now the negative effect it was having on my body. After two weeks without sugar, I felt better than ever. I had no desire to consume sweets and it was amazing. Knowing what I know now about sugar, my biggest regret is not having ended my love affair with sweets earlier.

sugar 2

4 Comments Add yours

  1. remuswang says:

    i agree with you, i started to drink non sugar beverages from 2013, and i feel good.

  2. jittapon19 says:

    I agree with you, but I think sugar is not too bad if you have it appropriate amount.

  3. Monoploy says:

    Sugar might not be that bad if you have it in a proper amount. Just eat and work out. I think that should be okay. because sweetness makes me happy 🙂

  4. saleh8 says:

    I am trying to quit anything that has sugar, I was surprising when I have known how much sugar in just one can of Coca Cola.
    However you can not just quit sugar your body need them you should know how mush you need.

Leave a Reply

