You call this puppy love?

Puppies in cages
Puppies in cages

I love New York, and for a long time I thought I loved everything about this city. But after last week discovery, I definitely do not!

As a dog lover all I want is for them to have a good and safe life, and not be mistreated. And you would think that a dog store, who sells puppies, treats them well. Well, not all of them do!

One day when I was walking down Broadway something caught my eye; puppies in a glass cage. Most of the people who walked by didn’t stop because of the puppies living conditions, but to discuss which one was the cutest. I, on the other hand, was concerned. It was 7 puppies in a little glass cage. And that wasn’t even the worse part. The glass cage was standing in the sun, and the temperature that day was over 90 degrees. If that’s not animal cruelty, I don’t know what is.

I decided to go into the store to confront the owner, but when I got inside I got even more surprised and upset. The sight that met me was several small cages with puppies in them. The cages was so small that the puppies could barely turn around. How can this be allowed in New York, the capital of the world? I was shocked.

Puppies in cages
Puppies in cages

I found the owner and asked him why he kept the puppies in the sun, and why there where 7 of them in a small glass cage. The answer I got was disappointing. According to the law the glass cage is big enough to fit 7 puppies. The owner also explained that he was just about to pull the shades down to block the sun out. I thought to myself that it was bullshit. He would probably not have done that if I hadn’t walked by.

I left the store with a depressing feeling. I wanted to take all of them home, but I knew that the owner would just get new ones.

What’s wrong with the puppy stores in New York?

Till next time!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. sarahhjorthol says:

    I know, this is so awful.. I feel so bad for the dogs that have to live inside those windows and cages! Have you checked the health rules and regulations for this anywhere?

  2. Lise Hanssen says:

    I know, so awful! No I haven’t, but I will definitely check it out!

  3. Last time when I was walking on Lower East Side, I saw a bunch of those stores too that kept dogs in bad conditions. I think there are 2 reasons for the owners to do so: 1. To call for compassion of customers who would probably buy one. 2. Rent smaller store with more dogs to save money.

    1. Lise Hanssen says:

      I bet that’s why they’re doing it, but it’s not right at all. I would think that New York had a law against it! It’s very sad.

  4. Monoploy says:

    I got your feeling even though I am not the one who have a dog but seeing thing like these make me feel terrible. Some people nowadays kind of insane!

    1. Lise Hanssen says:

      People don’t need a dog to feel terrible seeing this. That’s why I got so surprised when so many just walked by. I’m happy I’m not the only one thinking some people are crazy!

Leave a Reply

