My Top 3 Must-Have Desserts in Manhattan

I’ve always been a fan of sweets, the sugary goodness leaves you in a melodic high for the rest of the day. During my past two years of living in Manhattan I made it a mission to find the best desserts in the city. Below you will find the most coveted list of the delicious, scrumptious, and addictive confections.

My Top 3 Dessert List of Manhattan

  1. Two Little Red Hens -1652 2nd Ave. (Between 85th and 86th street)

This adorable little bakery is located on the Upper East Side. Somebody from work recommended this eatery to me and I had to look for it behind the massive construction on 2nd ave. When I arrived there for the first time I ordered a marble cupcake. It was layered with both chocolate and vanilla. The next time I decided to venture for a satisfying treat I ordered their red velvet cake. It was love at first bite, the creamy texture and the fluffy base made the perfect compilation for an award-winning cupcake. Two Little Red Hens became my go-to place for all visitors I had.

   2. Magnolia Bakery – 200 Columbus Ave (Between 69th and 70th street)

Although Magnolia Bakery has several different locations around Manhattan, I can safely say I’ve been to them all, my favorite location has to be the one on the Upper West Side. One day I was watching Sex and the City and Magnolia came up, I was intrigued by this cute little dessert shop. Later when I moved to the city I knew I had to find it, it was after all very famous. The first time I visited I went with the safe bet of ordering a chocolate cupcake. The more I returned the more adventurous I became with the flavors. Recently I tasted their banana pudding. I have never been a fan of bananas and before tasting this pudding, I really didn’t care for them very much, but something changed when I bit into this amazing pudding mixture. I’ve also had their chocolate cheesecake and it does not disappoint.

Magnolia Cupcakes from @pinkb0w Instagram
Magnolia Cupcakes from @pinkb0w Instagram
A classy day spent at Magnolia Bakery from @pinkb0w Instagram
A classy day spent at Magnolia Bakery from @pinkb0w Instagram

3. Levain Bakery – 167 West 74th street (Between Columbus ave. and Amsterdam ave.)

This delicious bakery is located on the Upper West Side. This was another discovery that I have my work to thank for. Someone from work told me that I needed to try their cookies. I always wanted to go, but I forgot and then one day I just happened to be in the area and I saw this long line, so I took a chance and jumped in. I tried the dark chocolate chocolate chip, “a chocolate lover’s dream” as taken from Levian’s menu. I love chocolate so much, that all the other options just seemed obsolete.

After reading this post I hope you will take the time to visit these places and enjoy the desserts like I did.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Kiara Morales says:

    There is so much deliciousness in your post! I am a lover of cupcakes myself, so I will have to hunt some of these down myself. Magnolia Bakery, is such an iconic location in NYC, so I am looking forward to seeing if it meets the hype.

    1. efratshamban says:

      If you decide to go to Magnolia you should try either the chocolate cupcake or the red velvet, those are my favorites.

      – Efrat

      1. Kiara Morales says:

        Efrat, I am a huge fan of chocolate but in this instance I think the red velvet is a great suggestion – yum!

  2. Kewen Chen says:

    The cupcakes of Magnolia Bakery look beautiful and yummy. How many flavors do the cupcakes that you show in the pictures have ?

    1. efrat shamban says:

      Banana, Chocolate and Vanilla. you should try them allll 🙂

  3. sarahhjorthol says:

    I have not tried number 1 and 3, so I have to check them out asap! Will you also come with some recommendations for down town?

    1. biancaAvila says:

      bouchon bakery , and Fika around 20th street 🙂

      1. efrat shamban says:

        I didn’t try them yet. Maybe next post 🙂

  4. biancaAvila says:

    I would definitely like to try one and two. Though I tree once to go to magnolia, and it was packed. Anyway, I like the pictures , Did you take them?

  5. efrat shamban says:

    Tnx, yes I did 🙂
    you can find me on Instagram @pinkb0w

  6. Lise Hanssen says:

    Yum, it looks so good! I live in east village, do you know some good places to go there?

    1. sure 🙂
      “BUTTER LANE” located at 123 E 7th st. they have great cupcakes and if you are really into it they are running workshop. I did it with my sister and we had a great time.

Leave a Reply

