What´s in a blog?

“What´s in a name?”, Juliet Capulet asked in Shakespeare´s “Romeo and Juliet”. But today my question is “What´s in a blog?”
I asked a few of my friends what things and topics they thought defined me, what would be my field of expertise.
Most of them ended up with saying “you love to discuss, whether it is food, politics, news or even celebrity gossip”.

So I decided that each week I will be discussing trending topics on Social Media.
We all se the topics on your Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, just to name a few.
But these are the three platforms I use the most to find information, or letting information find me.

Screen Shot 2015-09-17 at 11.29.12 Screen Shot 2015-09-17 at 11.29.38 Insta

Topic of the week: Ashley Graham

Ashley Graham is, according to model standards, a plus size model. She is a size 16 and has curves, boobs, thighs, hips. Everything a woman should have. I follow Miss Graham on Instagram, and I am in awe of the campaign she started. By using the hashtag #IAmSizeSexy she wants to promote body diversity and showing the world that big is also beautiful.

Body shaming have been a hot topic lately, if anyone in the spot light gained 2 lbs they are immediately called out on it.
Who made the rules that being over a size 2 is considered fat? I myself feel the pressure at times, and I would rather spend my time focusing on more important things than being thin, believe me. But the media culture influences me more than I would like it too. So when I saw Ashley Graham´s lingerie show on New York Fashion Week I was amazed. And as The Mirror described it “This plus size model ruled the runway”. #IAmSexy currently have 9,042 pictures on the Gram, and and several tweets embracing this movement.

What do you consider beautiful on your culture? Isn´t the most important thing to be healthy and happy?
Let´s all have that piece of cake and enjoy this beautiful city called New York!

Until next week!

Leave a Reply

