The High Line: Enjoy Spring Days in NYC!

image

If you never have taken time to walk through the High Line it is something you should do, especially with the spring coming. Obviously, Central park is the main place where people love to relax but the High Line is more original and also nice. Then it’s a park/walkway with a rich history and which offers a unique and exclusive point of view on the west of Manhattan.

First, let me highlight a few historic points about the High Line. During the 30’s it was an aerial railway which had been built to address traffic problems in the districts of Chelsea and Meatpacking. Around the 50’s-60’s, there was a decline in the use of the rails in favor of the road. Therefore, gradually the traffic line stopped in 1980. In 1999, the idea of a suspended urban parks appears to preserve the structure of the line and in 2004 the works started.

The walk along the High Line is beautiful. Crossing Chelsea and Meatpacking, you enjoy an exclusive point of view on the districts but also on the Hudson River and the shores of the New Jersey. Moreover, the High Line is enjoyable itself with a lot of plants and places where you can relax and have sunbath (on sunny days of couse). I know many activities (urban class with an architect, temporary art exhibition visit, Pilates Class…), free or paid, are available on this place but if you want more information you should visit the website.

How to get there ?

The suspended park crosses through the blocs between the 10th and 11th Avenue, from the 30th Street to Gansevoort Street. However you can also reach it by the 28th, 26th, 23th, 20th, 18th, 16th and 14th Streets.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. zaaronnnnnn says:

    I don’t think it is a big deal when I see the blog…but after you mention the sunbath, that is my thing!

    1. apeureux says:

      I can’t wait for having sunbath there! Probably this week, there are sunny days 🙂

  2. yzhao18 says:

    High Line is definitely a great place for walking for that my dorm is near the 20th entrance. I always go for a walk with my friends after dinner, seeing the busy traffic and beautiful neon light above the bridge.

    1. apeureux says:

      I like the contrast between the High Line which is a quiet place and the busy traffic around it.

  3. hridya01 says:

    Sounds interesting. That’s definitely on my things-to-see list now.

    1. apeureux says:

      I hope so 😉
      You will not regret!

  4. mvanomme says:

    I love the view from the high line. The pictures come out great from the clear overpass. I think a lot more could be done to make it more appealing but overall I agree its a great place to visit during the Spring and Summer.

    1. apeureux says:

      Thank you for your comment. I just added a picture I took from the High Line : -)

  5. lyu06 says:

    I live just nearby. it’s really beautiful especially when you walk during the dusk. a good place to view Manhattan.

    1. apeureux says:

      I agree with you, the best time to there is during the dusk (except for a sunbath!). Especially on the morning if you want to avoid the crowd.

Leave a Reply

