Smartphones : A boon or a bane?

With so much being said about technology and the over use of smartphones, I actually got to experience an entire week without it. Obviously not by choice but because my phone decided to slide down and have its screen cracked. And it took an entire week to get it fixed.

Shattered Smartphone

We often hear people complain about the excessive use of smartphones and that gets us thinking. At some point of time we all agree that we are too absorbed into this new world of smartphones and we should stay away from it. But this one week made me realize that the smartphones are definitely an integral part of the lives we live now. Staying away from them probably when we are on a vacation could be a good idea but its almost impossible to survive without them in our daily lives. Specially when you are staying alone, in a new city, all by yourself, it is just not possible.

The last week made me realize how from the moment we wake up to the time we go to sleep our entire life revolves around our phone. It started the moment I woke up, realization hit me that my alarm didn’t go off, obviously because my phone wasn’t working. Who has an alarm clock these days? Specially not when you are a single woman living a hand-to-mouth life in a new city. And it just gets worst from there. I realized that we are dependent on our phones for everything we do. No backup of contact numbers so that you can call anyone in times of need. Surprisingly I didn’t even remember my parent’s cellphone numbers. Who needs to remember numbers when you can just save them right? Moving around the city is so much more difficult when you don’t have GPS. You see something interesting and you can’t click a picture. The everyday 45 minutes train ride seemed to take forever without headphones plugged in and no games to play. No messages, No watsapp, No phonecalls, life just seemed so incomplete without the continuous beeping of the phone.

We have all lived a life without smartphones and life went around quite smoothly even then. But today our entire life revolves around the smartphone, a week without it seemed impossible to survive. A smartphone has an answer to all our needs. So the question still remains is a smartphone a boon or a bane?

4 Comments Add yours

  1. trbills says:

    I think it is both. I grew up without these things and I know it is possible to be without them for any period of time. Sometimes being completely unreachable is a wonderful thing. I know some people that go away on weekends and turn off their phones or all technology completely just to disconnect. It’s good to reconnect with real life and nature from time to time. But on the other hand, smartphones are great for students and business people to stay in touch on ideas, events, and important things going on at the workplace. I think the trick is to find a happy balance between the two.

    1. hridya01 says:

      I agree with you. I think I can survive without a phone when on a vacation. But it is really difficult to survive without one in your daily routine and specially when you stay alone away from home.

  2. zaaronnnnnn says:

    I think a smart phone means a lot to people, but without it, we are still human beings, we should keep out human nature, which is able to communicate with others. I do think we rely on smartphone too much.

    1. hridya01 says:

      That is true. I agree communication is the basic part of the human nature but with changing times, smartphones have become an integral part of our lives too.

Leave a Reply

