3 Easy Steps to Make Banana Ice Cream

So, I don’t think any of you know that I’m taking a year long break from added sugars.  7183004092_1fa53b3f85_o

What that basically means is that I will not consume sugar or any food that does not naturally have sugar in it. At first when I decided to do this, I was really scared to not be able to go through a year without sugar. However, I’ve been pleasantly surprised to learn that it is not that hard, actually it’s been a breeze. I cannot believe I am saying this because I love sweet stuff! When I was ten I gained like 15 pounds in a couple of months because I had a ton of chocolate every single day. So with that background, I certainly thought I was crazy to go without sugar for so long.

The first week I felt kind of weak and I got migraines, however it might not have been because of my lack of sugar intake (very likely it was). But then it got really easy to not eat any. The only thing that still makes me struggle is ice cream, my one true love for ever and ever we must remain together! But as we all know ice cream is crazy filled with sugar. So I decided to make my own ice cream last night. It was surprising easy!

1. I froze 4 bananas.

I froze them without peeling, which I found later you can just freeze them peeled. It will save you having to painfully peel them after they are freezing cold. However, if you decide to freeze them without peeling there is a technique to peel them so its not so hard. Check out the link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hLaPig3S0fQ

2. Then I blended them with some heavy cream. I poured enough heavy cream to cover 75% of the bananas in the blender

20150409_192922

3.Finally put that mix in a container and back in the freezer for 2 hrs.

The ice cream came out super creamy and delicious! The best part is that its still sweet from the banana but it has no sugar 🙂

4 Comments Add yours

  1. zaaronnnnnn says:

    Amazing! I guess it is delicious and good for your health with very little sugar. But I think I am not that good at making ice-cream…

  2. marinemarcenac says:

    It sounds super easy and super tasty! I need to try this but I’ll wait til spring (or even summer) comes out!

  3. stephosma says:

    @zaaronnnnnn– why do you say that? did you try to make it?
    @marinemarcenac– yes it is way more easy than I would have ever thought

    1. zaaronnnnnn says:

      I tried when I was a children…but it was not a good memory..

Leave a Reply

