Are you afraid of flying?

I’m a person that typically loves to travel and experience the cultures of different countries and islands. I’ve been flying on my own with little to no fear since I was about 10 years old, however, lately I have minimized my traveling quite a bit due to my growing fear of flying. Since the unexplained, mysterious disappearance of the Malaysian Air flight last year I have been deathly afraid of flying. I’m sure you have all been hearing of the horrific stories abou

Photo Credit: Christian Junker, Flickr https://www.flickr.com/photos/chrisjunker/
Photo Credit: Christian Junker, Flickr https://www.flickr.com/photos/chrisjunker/

t recent aircraft accidents that have occurred in the past few months, some of which are still a mystery. The latest report was about the intentional crashing of an Airbus into the French Alps by the Russian co-pilot, which left all 150 people on-board dead. This report came right on the heels of another report about a plane crash that happened in Taiwan right above an overpass about a month and a half prior. I feel as though there have been back to back reports of plane accidents which deepen my fear of flying. It’s actually amazing to think that at one point during my childhood, I actually wanted to become a pilot because of my fascination with airplanes. It’s sad that it has all come to this, and I really hate for random tragedies to have an impact on my happiness and pleasure of traveling but I’m not quite sure if it’s worth the risk anymore. What’s your take on flying in 2015?

4 Comments Add yours

  1. zaaronnnnnn says:

    I like troubling by taking airlines. Although there were some accidents during these years, I still like it!

  2. mvanomme says:

    I guess some people are better at not letting certain things stop them from doing what they enjoy. Good for you! Hopefully over time it will get better for me.

  3. hridya01 says:

    Miranda I agree with you. I think a lot of people are afraid of flying these days specially after 9/11.

  4. mvanomme says:

    Exactly, maybe 9/11 was one of the first major triggers that caused fears and these more recent events are not making it any easier.

Leave a Reply

