Amateur Culinary Addiction

I enjoy cooking very much. It gives me a sense ofIMG_2105[1] accomplishment and pride when one of my dishes turns out splendid. I find it funny, how some of the best food I’ve made came out of random experiments.

Yesterday, my friend Rebecca came over. We were going to watch a movie but decided we needed something to eat while we watched. Rebecca and I were both in the mood for something sweet. So, we went to my pantry, but could not find anything that satisfied our sugary craving. Then I saw a Red Lobster Cheddar Biscuit Mix, I love biscuits, however they are salty not sweet. Oh the dilemma! As I stood there pondering whether I should go sweet or salty, it hit me, I could make sweet biscuits. So I chopped some pineapple, boiled it in water and sugar until the water evaporated. Meanwhile, she blended heavy cream and sugar to make whipped cream. The next step was to make the biscuits without the powder mix or the cheese. I also added milk and butter instead of water, and put them in the oven for fifteen minutes.

When they came out, it smelled so good. So I cut them in half and filled them with the pineapple and cream. It turned out delicious! It was fluffy on the inside, crisp on the outside, creamy, and a bit tangy from the pineapple. Like Julia Child says, “If you’re afraid of butter, use cream” and since I wasn’t afraid of butter or cream, it turned out spectacular. Overall, one of the best desserts ever, and it only took about 25 minutes to make. They were the perfect snack for watching Pride and Prejudice the ridiculously long version.

Leave a Reply

