Central Park : a secret garden with a lot of treasures.

Central Park is a well-known place of New York. However, some people,FullSizeRender-1 2especially tourists, don’t know it treasures. Every weeks, I can find and discover another treasures in this place.

Several important information to know about this park :

  • Central Park opened in 1857 and cover 843 acres.
  • The park is managed by Central Park Conservatory.
  • This park has an expensive budget of $ 57 million per year

Did you know that you can adopt a bench in Central Park ?

I am serious, you can buy a bench and install a personalized plaques on it. However, it is very expensive : $10, 000 but it is unique.

If you want to have your own bench in Central Park hurry up : there are 9,000 benches and 3,900 have been already adopted !

If a bench is beyond your means, it is also possible to endow a tree of your choice ($500) or give donations in order to plant some flowers ($50).

All these actions enable to maintain the park.

Now, let’s talk about my favorite places in Central Park

1. Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis Reservoir

IMG_1010

I love going in this place in order to see the sunset. It’s my favorite place to take pictures. I  can stay here several hours to admire this beautiful landscape. And if I sam motivated, I took the path around for a walk. It takes me a little hour to do it.

This place was named Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis in 1994 to
commemorate her contributions to the city and because she enjoyed jogging in the area. By the way, the reservoir is no longer used to distribute New York City’s water supply, it provides water for the Pool and the Harlem Meer.

 

2. Belvedere Castle
FullSizeRender-3I discovered this place this week-end ! It is amazing. I had the feeling to be in a movie. I did not think that there were a such place in Central Park. I know that it is a huge place but a castle in the middle of central Park and New York !

I learned that Belvedere means ‘beautiful view’ or ‘panoramic view’ in Italian.

 

To put it in a nutshell, Central Park is full of treasures.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. trbills says:

    Last year I was visiting Central Park with a friend from out of town, and we walked around for hours. We found this cool area called ‘The Ramble’ and if you get a chance you should check it out. It’s a lot of exercise, but it’s a really fun walking trail.

  2. alinewbr says:

    Thanks Trbills for this tip 😀 I will try to go to “the Ramble” 🙂 !

  3. laurepierrey says:

    Love Central Park. I walked in few hours with a friend. It’s very peaceful, and the weather is perfect now to spend a day.

Leave a Reply

