Fifty Shades of Grey: the new Twilight ? (2/2)

As promised in my preview post, here is my review about this film.

FullSizeRender-3

As I said in my previous post, I read the trilogy and I am a huge fan. I was waiting for it release. Finally , I saw it. I reserved my ticket one months ago. We went, with a friend, to the AMC cinema on the 84th street /broadway. Do you know that there are recliner seats in this theater?  You have the feeling to be in your bed ! It’s magic ! I did not know this concept because we do not have this type of cinema. However, if you see a late night movie, there is a risk that you feel asleep.

 

  • The actors

The actors are very great. I can feel the alchemy between the two main characters. Even if I did not like Dakota Johnson (Anastasia Steel), I think that she is a great actress. Moreover, she reveals another personality trait of Anastasia: her arrogance. In the book, Anastasia is very « passive ». She does not refute Christian. Jamie Dornan (Christian Grey) is perfect !

  • My opinion

I was very surprised by the quality of the movie. I did not know but the movie was available in Imax ! However, I was a little bit disappointed with this movie. I know that it’s really hard to resume a 400 pages book in two hours. In my opinion, certain important scene are not in the movie. Moreover, I did not feel the same passion with the movie. In fact, there are not the thought of Anastasia, which are very important in order to understand correctly the relationship between the main character. However, I am always disappointed when I watch a movie adaptation; so I do not know if my opinion is very relevant.

However, I did not think that Fifty Shades of Grey is the new Twilight. Indeed, even if we can find the same love triangle between Christian, Anastasia and José such as in Twilight. The theme and the feeling are very different. Moreover, the target is very different ! But I hope that this movie and trilogy will have the same success !

I think I will watch him again after its release in DVD !

 

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. hridya01 says:

    Well I am a huge fan of this trilogy too, though I haven’t seen the movie yet. But I think when u read the book, you usually do not like the movie as much. As a reader, the book gives us the the opportunity to imagine and a lot of times the movie disappoints us because it doesn’t stand up to our imagination. Also I do agree with you that it is a difficult task to convert a 400 pages book into a two hour movie. Anyways I hope I get a chance to watch the movie soon. Thanks for the review.

  2. alinewbr says:

    I totally agree with you !! 😀 I hope that you will enjoy it !

  3. marinemarcenac says:

    I saw this movie too (I don’t remember with whom hum hum 😉 ) and I enjoyed it too. I was afraid at the beginning because I really didn’t enjoy reading the books. In that way, I wasn’t disappointed. It was finally a good surprise!

    1. alinewbr says:

      Yes ! I told you that it will be good 🙂 even if we do not read the book. Moreover, I think that because you do not read the book, you were not disappointed 🙂

  4. abrehant says:

    I saw it the first day when the film was shot at the cinema. I LOVED IT. I’ve read the books before and I’ve really enjoyed to see this film. Dakota Johnson is amazing. I was very surprised because they cut lots of sex scenes perhaps because they didn’t want to chock the audience.

    1. alinewbr says:

      Yes I totally agree with You ! I love this movie too and Dakota is amazing 🙂

Leave a Reply

