‘Tis the Season!

There is absolutely nothing I love more than celebrating the holiday season. Earlier in the semester I had written a post called “Saving Thanksgiving,” and I’m happy to announce that my mother’s side of the family has made up and is now back to normal! I think I’m more in the holiday spirit this year because everything has finally fallen into place.

My boyfriend of 2 years, Chris and I have been working on things the last few months, and are building on our relationship. Our communication is better than ever, and I’m showing him that he can trust me in every way. There have been some serious ups and downs, but we have the same long term goal in mind and want things to workout.relationship  (2 summers ago)

Speaking of working out, I wrote about my struggle with the 30 day fitness challenges. I started doing the 30 day Brazilian butt lift challenge the day I wrote that blog post. I actually see results!! I’m not going to post pics..but trust me it worked! I continue the basic exercises every morning if I can. You just have to mentally convince yourself that you want to see results. Sticking to something feels great.

Checkout: http://www.the21daychallenge.com/30-day-butt-liftwindow

I grew up having the privilege of celebrating Hanukkah and Christmas. Last weekend, I went down to Atlantic City to celebrate Hanukkah early at my cousin Danny and Liana’s house. We drank a lot of wine and shared a lot of laughs. I spent last Sunday putting up the tree with my parents. My mom started collecting nutcrackers and snowmen and put them all over the house. She also puts up menorahs and other Hanukkah decorations to balance.

fam

I convincedhot choc my boyfriend to decorate his apartment for Christmas. I started him off by getting a light up snowman, reindeer door piece, and a fat snowman we nicknamed “Hunka Chunka.” Last night we put up some snowflake garland, ribbon, and festive door hangings. We saw the windows on 5th avenue the other night and saw the tree together. We finished off by having dinner at a French bistro and enjoying some hot chocolate and Jameson. Best combo ever!!!

 

 

snowman

 

As happy as I am that the holidays are here, I am also sad. Last year, I missed spending Christmas with my entire Dad’s side of the family. I didn’t know it then, but it was my Grandpa Ben’s last Christmas. I saw him a few days later to celebrate at the senior citizen community, but it wasn’t the same. I regret it more than anything. Due to Altzeimers, this was the last time he remembered who I was. But this year, I plan on commemorating his memory by full heartedly by embracing the holiday season. He loved space, the idea of the unknown, always cracked a joke to make me smile, and loved to samba with me in his kitchen. I realized I never fully appreciated my family, and I want to spend as much time with them as possible.

This year I lost my grandfather and I thought I had lost the love of my life. I can’t get my grandpa back, but I can embrace the lessons he taught me in life and the strong spirit that he had. I have learned so much about myself and the people around me. I hope everyone enjoys this blessed season and the new year!hardcoreholiday

One Comment Add yours

  1. liachristilautomo says:

    Hi Sarah,
    looks like you’re having a lot fun this holiday season. and you and your boyfriend look great together. and i am sorry about your Grandpa, i am pretty sure he is happy where he is right now 🙂
    Wishing you a Happy Hanukkah, Merry Christmas, and a very Happy New Year!:)

    ps: that drink looks so good 😉

Leave a Reply

