Frustrated during the holiday season? You are not alone.

new-york-city-christmas     bangkok-central-world-christmas-tree-joy-to-the-world

             Christmas in NYC                                   Christmas in Thailand

During Christmas time many buildings in the heart of New York decorate with neon signs, Christmas trees and Santa Claus. Numerous streets, restaurants, churches, schools, and houses decorate with Christmas trees, bells, and reindeer. People plan to have parties. Many children are looking forward to having a happy time. People begin to go shopping to buy presents for friends and family members. During the holiday season, many advertising on TV, prints, newspapers, billboards, and movies, encourage us to overspend. As people watch commercials, which have a great influence on them, they consume more. They cannot recognize that they buy presents based on their emotional needs.

Besides, when people live alone or they are far away from their family. They feel isolated and empty, so they will buy things in order to fulfill themselves. However, some people try not to respond to this campaign because they understand that the true meaning of Christmas is being with their family not buying the newest things.

        Christmas is coming in two weeks. This make me think about Christmas in my country. I would not like to celebrate it here. Even though we live in the USA, the holidays are not very meaningful for some of us. We miss our environment and Christmas tradition. We would like to have quality time with our loved ones. One special thing that I miss is preparing Thai traditional food: fired fish with basil sauce, chicken wings, papaya salad, tom yam shrimp, and sticky rice. The most important thing for me when it comes to the holiday season is being with my parents and making unforgettable memories in the kitchen surrounded by their warmth.

What I really member is the scent of basil, Thai herbs, and our conversations, the loud voice of my father and mother’s cooking. She transforms simple ingredients into something magical. This brings me bittersweet memories. It is comforting to know that I’m not the only one. The holiday season can be a happy time for some people, but for others can get depressed, especially when they are far away from home.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. thiggins99 says:

    It’s nice to hear the Christmas tradition is alive elsewhere It is really starting to feel too commercialized here in America nowadays…

  2. koowathanat says:

    Yeah everywhere celebrates Christmas day.

  3. liachristilautomo says:

    Pear, you are right about the Christmas tradition here in the US. Just look at those window displays and commercial on television — they associated Christmas with Sale this Sale that 50% off Christmas shopping etc. I am not saying it’s bad it’s just whatever happen to the actual meaning of Christmas itself?

  4. koowathanat says:

    I agree with you that it is not bad to go shopping for christmas day, but for some people might thing the true meaning of christmas is buying and giving a present for others.

  5. sunnyfromchina says:

    I noticed that other countries like Christmas too such as my country. But what is the most impressive here to me is the sale. How can they cut the price like that and keep that long time! I don’t have any more penny to spend but there’s still a lot of things I want. T-T

    1. koowathanat says:

      Hi sunny,
      Thank you for your comments. I do not think you don’t have money. The true is you have a lot, right.

  6. dounialoveny says:

    Hi @koowathanat! I so agree with you, Christmas should stay family focus and not become a commercial celebration.
    I gonna leave NY york in 2 weeks and celebrate Christmas in France. I’m so glad that I’ll be with my family and my friends, and I cannot imagine to stay far from them during Christmas. I’ve been far from them for a year, so now I know how much I miss them and I really don’t care about the presents, I just want to be with them. It is the most important.

    1. koowathanat says:

      Hi dounialoveny
      I totally agree with you. I hope you have wonderful time with your family in France.

Leave a Reply

