Fried Tofu with Chopped Chili Recipe

IMG_7389One of the things I miss a lot about my hometown China is (of course) the food. Fried tofu—one of my favorite dishes—is a recipe from my father. The taste is a combination of salty, sweet and hot flavor, so it’s really delicious. The recipe is not a very tricky one actually, as long as you don’t mess up with the frying process.

Ingredients:

1 box of firm tofu

Olive oil

Chopped chili*(Not a replaceable ingredient, because the main flavor comes from this.)

Peppercorn

Sea salt

Soy sauce

*You can get the chopped chili(“剁椒“) I’ve used for this dish from any Chinese supermarket. This one here is nearly used up by me.

IMG_2636

Directions:

1.Cut the tofu into 1/4 inch thick slices.

2. Pour the olive oil into a frying pan (make sure every corner of the pan is covered with oil), and fry the tofu using medium heat. You may not put all the tofu in the pan at once, and just make sure no tofu is covered by another one. When the tofu can be easily moved in the pan (means the bottom side of the tofu is not sticky and well-cooked), flip them to fry the other side. Remove the tofu to a plate when both sides of the tofu have slightly turned yellow.

(*This is the most tricky part of this recipe. The tofu should be slightly turned yellow and still kept some kind of white, so the tofu won’t be too crispy, nor too soft.)

3. Remove the extra oil from the pan, and put all the pieces of tofu back into the pan. Put 1 1/2 tablespoon chopped chili, 1/2 tablespoon peppercorn, 1/4 teaspoon of sea salt, and 1 tablespoon soy sauce into the pan, and stir fry all the ingredients until they are all mixed up.

Then, you’re all set. Remove from heat and serve!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. 2muchmelo says:

    That looks so good! i wish i could have a taste.

    1. yunfei says:

      Haha, thanks! It is good! if I had time next week I’ll cook some and bring it to the class.

  2. koowathanat says:

    Hi yunfei,
    I love Chinese food, but I would not like to cook. I have a question. Where can I get fired tofu with chopped chili. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

    1. yunfei says:

      Hi pear, first, it’s fried tofu, not fired tofu. That would so frightening if the tofu was on fire! lol Just kidding. 😉
      I’d like to make some for you guys next week, but since there will be a presentation, I’m not sure if I’m gonna make it. I’ll try, but please don’t blame me if I fail.

  3. liachristilautomo says:

    Hi Yunfei,
    now you really make me drool bad. haven’t had dinner yet and still doing school’s project. lol.
    thanks for sharing the recipe. I will try it when I have time 😉

    1. yunfei says:

      Ah ha! Finally there’s someone who would like to try the recipe. thank you lia.
      And I hope you’ve had something to eat by now. don’t be too harsh on yourself. 😛

Leave a Reply

