Feeling a bit French at Sel et Poivre

photo(4)

It was 1 PM and I just got out of church. I told my friend that I wanted to eat a lot of food without breaking my wallet. So we walked around Lexington Avenue and he actually suggested a diner which unfortunately was jam packed with customers. I told him I would not want to wait forever for a table and a restaurant with tolerable noise level would work better for me. So we walked again and we passed by a nice simple restaurant called “Sel et Poivre“. I looked inside and instantly I thought “this place seems fancy. Maybe next time.” He was also having the same mind as I do and we continued walking until I finally said “you know what? I don’t care how crowded that diner is. I’ll just grab a salad and I’ll be fine.” Minutes later, we walked pass by Sel et Poivre again and I checked on the menu. It has $15.95 prix fixe brunch and they seemed all right. We were both in the same mind and next thing you know, we were inside sitting and scanning the menu again. He settled on Fettucine with chicken in a creamy pepper sauce while I chose the $15.95 prix fixe brunch. Boy, we were so pleased with our decision!

Minutes after the waiter took our order, a group of “the haves” walked in and sat on the reserved seating section. Afterwards, a French lady and her son walked in and also sat on the reserved seating section. The group both converse in French and I literally told to my friend “I wish I put more serious effort on my French in High School.” Every table has a complimentary of bread and butter. The bread was just soft and easy to chew while the butter tasted just right.

photo(1)

photo(2)

After the bread, my first order of Prix Fixe came. It was a choice of Mimosa or Bloody Mary but I settled with Mimosa. Minutes later, my choice of tea came. They actually brought 4 different types of tea for me to choose. I chose English Breakfast and it tasted great. Our entrees order came after 15 minutes of waiting. His fettuccine chicken was so good that I regretted not choosing that for my lunch. My eggs benedict also came at the same time and I literally said “Thank God they did the eggs right!” Don’t get me wrong though, my eggs benedict was delicious as well. We were so full with our foods we did not even think of ordering dessert.

photo(3)

photo

Our total bill was $38 (including tax) and for that price and the amount of foods and drinks you got, it was more than just affordable. I would gladly give this French bistro a 5 stars if only they were more attentive on us rather than just a “once in a blue moon” checking us if we are fine or not. I remembered they were more friendly with regular customers (a waiter seemed to favor the French lady and his son a lot) and was dry with us earlier. Could it be because we were new? Possibly, but this place deserve a second visit for their great selection of foods and the price. If you don’t want to splurge a lot, consider getting their prix fixe lunch, dinner, and brunch. And they also have special menus every day – I heard they have Bouillabaisse on Monday! So next time you’re at the Upper East Side area, give this cute little bistro a try!

Sel et Poivre
Address: 853 Lexington Avenue, New York, NY, 10021
Phone: (212) 517-5780 Fax: (212) 517-4785
Website: www.seletpoivrenyc.com
Hours: Sun-Thu 12:00 – 10:30 PM, Fri-Sat 12:00 – 11:00 PM
How to get there: Sel et Poivre is located on Lex Avenue between 64th and 65th Street. The nearest transit would be the F station however it is also easily reachable by 6 train at 68th St station as well as 4,5,6,N,Q,R trains on 59th and Lex.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. koowathanat says:

    Hi Lia, I think their prix fiex brunch is not expensive when I compared to the price and the portion. If I have a chance, I would go to over there and taste the food because I like to try new restaurant and I love eating. Anyway, thank you for sharing your new restaurant experience.

    1. liachristilautomo says:

      Hi Pear,
      yes for a restaurant like this it’s affordable — i have yet to find other similar place like this that offers brunch for $15.95 thanks for your comment 🙂

  2. remimuniz says:

    I think I will be trying this place! I love trying new places in the city especially if they have mimosas and a nice atmosphere.

    1. liachristilautomo says:

      Hi Remi,
      yes you definitely should! 🙂 thanks for your comment.

  3. gigilauren says:

    I LOVE a good eggs Benedict, and your photo sold me! The atmosphere sounds wonderful, and what’s a good brunch without a mimosa?

    1. liachristilautomo says:

      Hi Sarah,
      true! i’m very picky when it comes to eggs benedict sometimes. and yes, mimosa is always a perfect drink with brunch 😉 thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

