The Sh*t In Your Coffee

I grasp the cup in my hands and bring it close to me. I breathe in scents of hazelnut, cocoa and just a hint of cream. I bring the cup to my lips. I let the steam envelop my senses as I drift into a warm and comforting place. The liquid concoction hits my tastebuds. Bittersweet goodness seeps into my body as I savor this delicious moment…

It’s 9:00 am. I’m having a very private moment with my cup of coffee.

It’s a known fact that I’m America’s Biggest Bitch without it. In general, I most definitely am NOT a morning person. I communicate and function very much like a zombie. I prefer noises, glares, stares over words. Have you ever wondered what exactly is in that miracle cup? What are the chemicals that embody that familiar scent we love, and what causes us to magically awaken? The answers are not as black and white as you think.

  • The secret of caffeine’s magic: An alkaloid plant toxin that blocks the sleep chemical adenosine, making you feel awake. The body reaction to caffeine is very similar to that of cocaine.
  •  Water breaks down the coffee beans. Newer coffee drinkers “clean out their systems” while regular coffee drinkers develop stronger resistance to the acidity.
  • The tar-like odor comes from 2-Ethylphenol. Cockroaches use the chemical to communicate to each other when their colony is endangered.
  • Quinic Acid is a key ingredient in Tamiflu, and also gives our coffee that bitter flavor.

Check out this site to find out more!!  (This is where I found this info) http://archive.wired.com/science/discoveries/magazine/17-10/st_coffee

So…I finish my cup and now I’m wired! My eyes are burning, my body is jittery and I’m focused on the task at hand. I go for a second cup. I feel a headache coming on, and I feel my heart pounding through my chest. A few hours later, I find myself exhausted and ready to take a nap. What the hell?? I guess I had too much for caffeine for my body to handle.

images

(Source: commons.wikimedia.org)

Check this video out for more info on how the brain reacts to caffeine!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. liachristilautomo says:

    Hi Sarah,
    I am also not a morning person and i always make sure i have at least one cup of coffee every day (i just finished mine when i write this) but yea, it’s kinda scary though what caffeine may do to us especially if we are a coffee addict. great post!

  2. gigilauren says:

    @liachristilautomo thank you so much! It’s so easy to become addicted to caffeine. I hope you learned some new facts!

  3. remimuniz says:

    Wow this is something that we never think about. I am so addicted to coffee and really feel like I can’t function without it. I suffer from acid reflux and coffee is on the list of things I should avoid and still I can’t. I try to limit it to once a day but it is still so hard. Hopefully, I can remember this post the next time I walk into Starbucks for round three of coffee.

  4. gigilauren says:

    @remimuniz I know a lot of people who suffer from acid reflux! My next post i’m going to write about energy boosting drinks and foods that you could supplement coffee with.

Leave a Reply

