Should you get a tattoo?

1038006b099303b192b11bb1395cd899Adam-Hays-owl-tattoo tumblr_mxfpmt3H461sks71mo1_50019-tree-tattoo

 

 

 

 

 

Why is the number of people who have tattoos in the           United   State growing? Have you observed that there are more and more people who are getting body art? I always see many people who have tattoos and piercings walking on the street in NYC. I also see tattoo parlors. Why is this trend growing? Some people like a tattoo because they want to show that they are different from others. When people tattoo their bodies, they think they can attract a romantic partner or they can gain self-esteem. People also get a tattoo when they want to fit in, to remember special events, and just to look “cool”, outrageous, and different. Even though getting body art makes you look good, from my perspective, business people should not get a tattoo or piercing.

People with tattoos may not know that there are some disadvantages of having tattoos on their bodies. When people get a tattoo, there is a high risk of Hepatitis B and AIDS. Another disadvantage of getting a tattoo is that those people who get it may change their mind. Another important reason for not getting a tattoo is people at the workplace might feel awkward when they look at it. (specially in Thailand and many other Asian countries).

I remembered that when I had the opportunity to participate at the Stock Exchange in Thailand, one of my friends had a tattoo on his left arm and he was not allowed to participate in any internship program and it was hard time for him to find a job. In my country, we normally do not offer jobs to people who have a tattoo on any part of their body because we tend to think that when people get tattoos, they might ruin the image of the company. They also make their co-worker feel uncomfortable when they have to work together.

I know that sometimes people who have tattoos can get a good job. For example, many artists have body art and they are very successful. The baristas at Starbucks can show their tattoos and piercings. Now Starbucks allow employees to have body art. The baristas from Starbucks said, we are allowed to show body art, except on our face and throat; however, most Asian companies do not allow workers to get a tattoo.

As you can see, job seekers should be aware of the fact that body art works against them because they show a certain degree of rebelliousness. Some companies have their grooming standards and they ever restrict the size and number of tattoos. Getting a tattoo has some advantages and disadvantages, so you should consider this before getting one.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. nicolelundergan says:

    @koowathanat These are really great things to consider! I have been wanting to get a tattoo for some time now but haven’t been sure if it was a good idea. I can certain take what you’ve said into consideration!

    1. koowathanat says:

      I think you can have a tattoo. In NYC, it is not a big deal for having a tattoo.

  2. sunnyfromchina says:

    I always want to get one but I never figured where on my body to print them. And also I’m such a person without long-lasting love so I’m afraid I would hate the tattoo just in the next week when I get it. lol

    1. koowathanat says:

      Hi suuny, thank you for your comment. I am afraid of having tattoo on my body. I have never though that I want to get one.

  3. jtinari says:

    I think these are good things to look out for. I personally have 3 tattoos, all of which can be covered. As a female and a job seeker I always take into consideration what people think of me if they were to see my tattoos. Honestly, if everyone wasn’t so judgmental I would LOVE to have a sleeve, which would mean tattooing my whole arm. Unfortunately, I don’t think i will ever do this because i don’t want my career to be in jeopardy. I think its a bad stigma that everyone has about tattoos. I look at it as art, but i can see how many can view it in a different way. On the other hand, i will continue to get tattoos because i absolutely love them. However, i will try to get them in places that can be covered. Just in case.

    1. koowathanat says:

      I think so that you can have a tattoo on your body, but a tattoo should be printed in the place that the employers can not see.

  4. liachristilautomo says:

    Hi Koowathanat,
    I have also been thinking about getting a small tattoo for myself (but i guess my bf won’t even allow it anyway lol) but after reading your post, i think i might not get one like right now. I think depends on the workforce, yes in place like Starbucks you can definitely have a tattoo but i guess if it’s a serious workplace then maybe they should consider on getting one. and also back to the culture again, some parts of the world they view tattoo as a no-no and/or bad image and in the States, people tend to be a bit relax about it.

    1. koowathanat says:

      yes I think so

  5. dounialoveny says:

    Hi koowathanat, I didn’t know that Asian companies doesn’t allow workers to get a tattoo. I have one tattoo, and I’ll probably have more. I think tattoos shouldn’t influence employers about your capacity for a job,but I understand that some employers are not comfortable with it. I think that people have to think twice before having tattoos, especially about the field they want to be in the future. It’s important for me that all my tattoos can be covered, so I can hide it if my employer doesn’t like it.

  6. koowathanat says:

    I agree with you that before getting a tattoo, you should consider twice.

Leave a Reply

