Far far far away

Have you ever thought to yourself “I couldn’t be in a long-distance relationship?” If you have said yes to this; you’re not alone. 7 out of 10 people believe that long-distance relationships will never work. I once was just like you. Just sitting thinking about a long-distance relationship can be stressful. IMG_6201.JPG
The reason that I can speak on this is; because I’ve been in a long distance relationship for over a year. I’m very happy in my long-distance relationship and satisfy (minimal stress).

Long-distance relationships require just a little bit more work and paying attention to detail. If you want to be with your partner for the long haul. You will work diligently to make it work.
3 things that have helped my Long-distance relationship last.
1. A lot more communication
2. Being romantic woman/man
3. More listening

Communicate not only by phone, use technology. Social media platforms like Skype, tango, FaceTime. These are all visual tools to communicate with your partner. Scheduling date nights is always sensual for long-distance relationships. At 6 o’clock plan a FaceTime date. Eat dinner together and watch the same movie. There tons of Apps for you electronic devices. I found an App called Avocado. This app you’re able to hug kiss and send flowers virtually (seems a little cheesy but I’m telling you it helps). These small things go along way within a long distance relationship.
Romance and thinking outside of the box is key. Your partner is not with you 24 hours a day so listen to there needs . My Partner sent me a care package because I told him that I was homesick. The care package was everything about Michigan. I cried and he made me appreciate him even more.

IMG_8749.JPG
He took the time and the effort to grab the items. He drove to a post office and dropped the care package off. He placed all the items in a box and paid for shipping. This is a lot more effort than sending just a text message. Examples like this can make or break a long-distance relationship.
Listening goes hand-in-hand with being romantic. In order to be romantic you have to listen. Listen to your partners needs and wants. Come up with creative ideas to satisfy those needs even if you’re not available physically. There’s tons of other things that you can do to make your long-distance relationship rewarding (do your research). I promise you if you follow these three easy steps your long distance relationship will be more successful than others.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. koowathanat says:

    hi melody,
    I agree with you that now we have many ways to communicate with our partner. When you talk a lot on your phone, it makes you feel closer than it is. Being romantic man and woman can be a good way to keep your partner loving with you. Being a good listener can help you to understand what your partner’s needs from you and it can help you to keep your loved one.

  2. liachristilautomo says:

    aww Melody,
    I’m so happy reading this post because i used to be in a long distance relationship but didn’t work — well my ex didn’t really know how to be romantic or compromise at some point but yeah i agree with your 3 things. definitely communication and listening are so important whether it’s for a long distance or not long distance relationship.

    1. 2muchmelo says:

      Glad you enjoyed my post. I always look at things in a positive light >>>> Your ex just wasn’t your soulmate and yes I do believe in those teteteteheeeeee!!!!

  3. yunfei says:

    hi melody, I have to say you’re so lucky! Apparently, not every man can be so romantic and thoughtful like your boyfriend did. But, yes, communication and listening will certainly do the tricks.
    BTW, you’ve only been in a relationship for over a year? but as I see, from your stories, you two have been hung out for like all the time, haven’t you?

    1. 2muchmelo says:

      Hey Yunfei
      Yes! thank you i’m very lucky. Me and my BF have known each other for over 15 years its been a roller coster but now that we are adults we respect the relationship so much more then we both ever have. These past 2 years have been the best years.

  4. chris says:

    Honestly, relationships are a lot of work. On top of that, you need to be invested in it. I personally read a lot of relationship books and things like that to help me, but it didn’t help me as well as one on one interactions. I actually signed up on multiple forums to get help with problems like this and even at http://relationshipsandadvice.weebly.com to be led in the right direction. By doing this, my relationship has been extremely healthy now!

    1. 2muchmelo says:

      Thats a real cool site! Thanks for sharing. I’m glad that i’m not the only one that works hard to keep a healthy relationship.

  5. gigilauren says:

    Hi Melody,
    There are a lot of people in regular relationships who don’t make that extra effort to listen and be romantic. I think things will get even better for you two if you continue to have such great communication!

    1. 2muchmelo says:

      Thank you its hard work but worth it when we both work hard it makes it that much rewarding.

Leave a Reply

