Good Music? Bring it back to the 90’s!

Today’s music has gotten to be out of hand. Although, I guess you can say that it depends on what genre you listed to. If you choose to download your own music, you’re in the clear, because only then are you in control of what you listen to. Though, when you listen to the radio you will get bombarded with what the radio considers “popular” music. Of course, you will find yourself bopping to the tunes; But only because the beat is good. What about the words? Well, they seem to not mean much now a days. They don’t have truth, and I don’t find them to say anything relatable; unless you consider Taylor Swifts lyrics words of wisdom… “Cuz the haters gonna hate hate hate hate hate.” Which I guess is true. But, lets take it back about 20 years, if you want to listen to something that is actually good, songs that tell a story, and words that actually make sense. Here is a list of 90’s music that you will find surprisingly enjoyable.

1. All for You – (Sister Hazel)

2. Drive – (Incubus)

3. Slide – (Goo Goo Dolls)

4. Father of Mine – (Everclear)

5. All The Small Things – (Blink 182)

7 Comments Add yours

  1. nicolelundergan says:

    @jtinari I. LOVE. THE. 90s! And let’s not forget….

    Boyz II Men – I’ll make love to you
    Hanson – Mmmm BOP
    Mariah Carey – Fantasy
    Backstreet Boys – Everybody
    Counting Crows – Mr. Jones
    TLC – Waterfalls

    …I could go on forever.

  2. nicolelundergan says:

    And NO SCUBS! @jtinari @remimuniz don’t tell me you didn’t love this song!!

  3. gigilauren says:

    I literally have this conversation all the time. The music today is absolute SHIT.

    The Cranberries, Sugar Ray, all hip-hop from early to late 90’s, and of course ANYTHING by the Goo Goo Dolls..I still listen to these artists on a daily basis. Aaliyah is my all-time favorite r&b artist, and speaking of TLC, if you’re as big a fan as I am, Left Eye’s documentary ranks in my personal top 5.

    I’m determined to open my own 90’s bar in a few years. Let’s bring back good music!!

    1. jtinari says:

      @gigilauren @nicolelundergan So glad you two agree! The songs i’ve listed, and the ones you have mentioned (amongst many others) are songs I listen to almost every day. The majority of my playlist is 90’s music, because you can’t get any better! Its legible music that you can sing and dance to, not like all of these new songs that bleep out every other word!

  4. liachristilautomo says:

    90s music are the best! Goo Goo Dolls, Aerosmith, Air Supply, BSB, even Britney’s first album was one of my favorite … today’s music?! yeah just a bum-bum na-na-na and more repetition of the chorus.. sad 😦

  5. jtinari says:

    @liachristilautomo Exactly!! The songs have to meaning! just complete repetition. Also, @gigilauren forgot to mention. PLEASE open a 90’s bar because I will be in regular attendance!

  6. mpb1031 says:

    Justine,
    Catching up on some blog reading, I saw the title to your post and was immediately drawn. I was actually having a conversation with my sister today about the very same thing. She says that because music is so easily accessible and cheap, we’ll free, All it really takes now is just a good beat for an artist or producer to make money from a song. Artists just don’t put the time into lyrics or compositions like they did years ago, because they’re not selling albums like they did 20years ago. I guess they have to consider the business aspect of it too. I don’t know how true that is, but I do agree with you 100% that music from before this time was so much better, it was deep, had meaning, it was poetic. Thank goodness for iPod and the such that we can control what we listen to, because if not, I think I’d go crazy having to listen to what the radio puts out now… Smh
    Great post, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

