Apple Muffins to Fall For

Apples 2I don’t think I know anyone that doesn’t love fall, or at least idealize it into something they think they should love. I am guilty as charged – I have a certain adoration for it just as much as the next guy, and with the temperature drop yesterday and today I have been brutally made aware of just how little is left it. So in honor of this great season, here’s a recipe to help you keep warm while the weather turns cold.

W a r n i n g: These muffins are the comfiest of all comfort foods – made with sugar and spice and all things found in the top bracket of the food pyramid. Not for the faint of heart, or the diabetic.

*recipe was created by long-time family friend, Suzie Askins and has been shared with permission.

APPLE MUFFIN RECIPE
*Recipe can be used for bread or muffins, following instructions based on your preference
1 1/2 Cups of Oil
4 Eggs
2 Cups of Sugar
1 Teaspoon of Baking Soda
(**1 Teaspoon of Baking Powder – if making muffins)
2 1/2 Teaspoons of Cinnamon
1/2 Teaspoon of Salt
1 Tablespoon of Vanilla
3 Cups of Flour
1 Cup of chopped Nuts
3 Cups of apples, cut into LARGE pieces (Granny Smith are best for offsetting sweetness of batter)
Mix all ingredients. Pour into greased pans. Bake at 325* Fahrenheit: for bread loafs approximately 1 hour & 20 minutes, for muffins: approx 30 minutes OR until brown and knife comes out clean.
7 Comments Add yours

  1. liachristilautomo says:

    I love Apple pie a lot and I think i might try this recipe someday. now I feel like getting a pie somewhere. Thanks for sharing, Nicole!

    1. nicolelundergan says:

      @liachristilautomo haha yes! I love apple pie too. I’ll have to bake something like this soon for Thanksgiving! Let me know if you find a great place to get an apple pie! 🙂

  2. myriamamou says:

    Thank you for the recipe !! it looks really good 😉

    1. nicolelundergan says:

      @myriamamou Thank you! Let me know if you try it!! 🙂

  3. yunfei says:

    Mmm, this recipe looks not complicated, I might give it a try someday. Btw, why no photo for the muffin? 😛

  4. jtinari says:

    Thank you for posting this! I am in love with apple baked goods, although i don’t care for actual apples that much. (go figure) but this sounds so good! can’t wait to bake this.

    1. nicolelundergan says:

      @jtinari Yaaaaazzzzz! Apple baked goods are delicious! I am going to try to make something for us for the class after Thanksgiving! Fingers crossed I’ll have time!! #snackssnackssnacks

Leave a Reply

