My Strange Addiction

Hi, my name is Sarah and I’m a self-proclaimed Chinese food addict. Anyone close to me, whether it’s my family, boyfriend or closest friends, knows how extensive this addiction is. Everyone has their favorite foods that they claim they could eat every day. People often say it’s pizza, chocolate, or bacon. When it comes to Chinese, I can eat it 2-3 times per day, every day as a matter of fact, if I allowed myself to. I actually did this on several occasions.

My favorite dishes include: cheese wontons, pork soup dumplings (Joe Shanghai is #1 in Chinatown for these), eggrolls/spring rolls, wonton egg drop soup, chicken teriyaki, pepper steak, pork/chicken/beef fried rice, lo mein, mixed vegetables, stir fry etc.rice

The list could and will literally go on forever.

Anytime someone suggests a type of restaurant to go to, 80% of thetime I’ll bully them into going for Chinese. While this may be limited to a comfort food for most people, it can easily be my supplement for a daily dose of happy pills. Now, growing up in suburbia New Jersey, my choices were pretty limited. However, anytime a new spot opened up, my best friend Frank and I would try it out.

My addiction to Chinese food was brought to my attention my junior year in high school. My friends and I rented a condo in Wildwood for prom weekend, and went food shopping the night before to stock up on “supplies.”  “Sarah, what else do you think we need? I actually tried convincing my friends to buy white rice and friggen soy sauce. They looked at me like I was out of my mind. This past winter, my boyfriend and I ordered Chinese food off of seamless at LEAST once a week. This included sunday fundays, random snow days, and then some.

This past week alone, I’ve consumed Chinese food from 3 different places. I enjoy equally as much whether I’m happy, sad, hot cold, or indifferent. So, why do I love it so much? It simply hits the spot everytime.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. liachristilautomo says:

    Hi Sarah,
    I also love Chinese food but I think i am not as addicted as you are 😉
    Have you try WoHop? I love going there, the foods are great (even tho the location kinda so/so) and quite affordable I love their Lo Mein. And i agree w/ Joe Shanghai’s dumpling — they’re the best!
    I’m not sure if you like flat hand ripped lamb noodles but you should go to Xi’an famous foods for it – so good!

    Ok now i am hungry myself lol. 🙂
    Thanks for sharing this post!

  2. gigilauren says:

    WoHop is AMAZING! I haven’t been there in awhile, but I think it’s time I paid them a visit. Thanks for the suggestion–I’m definitely going to check it out! 🙂

  3. yunfei says:

    Hey Sarah, as a girl from Beijing, I have to say some of the Chinese food in America is not exactly Chinese food. lol Yes, we do have pork soup dumplings, spring rolls, fried rice, wonton soup, but chicken teriyaki is a Japanese cuisine. And pepper steak is originated from pepper pork, which is also one of my favorite dishes, too.
    China has various regional cuisines, but the American Chinese Cuisine mainly comes from Cantonese cuisine. If you have a chance to go to China, you’ll see there’re so many different kind of dishes. 😛
    So since I’m still new to the city, I’m not sure which restaurant is better, I cook myself most of the time. Maybe next time, I should post some recipes for you. Such as pepper pork, it’s not very tricky.

    Ps, I think the flat hand ripped lamb noodles that lia talked about is quite authentic, you definitely should try!

  4. gigilauren says:

    @yunfei Please share some traditional recipes! I’m always open to experimenting with cooking new things, especially foods that I love. I realize that American Chinese food is very very different from local specialities in China.

Leave a Reply

