Are You Playing Games?

After prom we decided to go to separate colleges.

IMG_8208.PNGI was okay with it because we both pretty much stayed only 30 minutes away from each other. I was so happy. We spent most of our days together. We had amazing dates. We went to different parks, bike riding, movies, skating we were just kids (19 years old) but we seemed so adult like. My friends and family started asking me questions. “Is he your boyfriend?” “Are you guys official?” “Where do you guys stand?” “Is he playing games with you?” Those were the questions that everyone was asking me. I never really thought about any of those questions before. I was just happy to be in the moment and be with him. My mother always said “misery loves company.” That’s exactly what was happening but I was too young to see it. Thoughts about our relationship started to fester. Were there right? Was he playing mind games with me? “Was I just a toy to play with.” “Why hadn’t he make me his girlfriend?” We’ve been dating for almost 2 years at this point and we still didn’t have a title. He was technically still my locker partner. I started questioning his motives. I just couldn’t believe that he was the type to want his cake and eat it too? I called him on the phone. Today was the day i was going to put y foot down.  He answer the phone and said “I have good news I just received a letter in the mail from the university I applied for. He opened the letter and started to read. Everything was a blur after he read the first sentence. Congratulations,
You have been excepted to our University. You see of course I was happy for him but I knew that the University was four hours away. He was receiving a four-year basketball scholarship with this University. he was so happy I couldn’t say anything about him being my boyfriend. I didn’t want to Ruin the mood. Therefore; I rocked it out and was supportive. We took turns driving to see each other twice a week. I attended all of his basketball games, but I still didn’t have a Title and I was getting a little insecure. He was the basketball superstar and ladies I know throwing themselves at him. It was totally understandable he was definitely irresistible. I told myself that I had to talk to him about how I was feeling. So the next time I went to visit I decided it was time to make it clear that I deserve to be his girlfriend.  I walk in his room and set on the window ledge. I said ” We need to talk.” he said ” No, you need to talk so talk.” I started rambling on and on never giving him eye contact (coward). I would  look to the left then look to the right. I even looked up and down to avoid  eye contact. Anytime my eyes locked on with his I turned my face very quickly. I was scared he would just say you know what forget it. I don’t have to answer to you because you’re right you’re not my girlfriend. I continue to ramble on and on I could hear him in the background say “Mel” I continue to keep talking “Mel” he said again. I continue to keep talking. I didn’t want to lose my train of thought before he cuts me off I thought. I just couldn’t say it? I kept thinking to myself Melody just say it. “Why am I not your girlfriend?” Seemed easy huh? Well those words were only uttered in my brain. He said “Melody!”so firmly that it startled me. I looked him in his eyes and he put both of his hands on my face and said “look at me, You are my girlfriend.” “Do you hear me? You are my girlfriend.” I don’t want to be with anybody else, I need you.” Thought I heard him say that I was his girlfriend, but I kept rambling on. He grabbed my face again and said “did you hear me Melody.” I’m not sure if that’s what you were trying to say to me, but I want you to be my girlfriend from this day forth. I don’t want anybody else. I looked him dead in the eyes and tears started flowing from them. He wiped my cheeks and continue to grabbed my face. I put my hands on top of his hands and he kissed my forehead. I looked up at him smiled and knew my locker partner was actually my soulmate.

IMG_2836-0.JPG

3 Comments Add yours

  1. zymia says:

    Such a nice story.. sometimes whats understood does not need to be said. FYI you guys look great together

  2. Lela V. says:

    Awwwww. So cute! Just like on TV. He shoulda said SNAP OUT OF IT!

  3. mganou says:

    I always love your posts so much! It brings me one more smile in my day! And i agree with Zymia, you guys look so great together, beautiful!

Leave a Reply

