Is this where I am suppose to be?

Life is something we essentially at some point all take for granted. We do not spend every second, minute and hour analyzing every change or event that happens. Throughout the last couple of years this is a topic that always seems to baffle me. Sometimes I sit and think about the events in my life and ask myself…Is this where I am suppose to be?

I am someone who constantly reaches for the stars or at least I like to think I do. Sometimes I feel as if the world around me is my playground and other times I feel consumed by it. I mean we do live in New York City so its easy to feel overwhelmed. Everyday we are surrounded by the constant clutter of people,intense traffic, and loud noise. At the same time, we are surrounded by beautiful buildings, opportunity, and a place filled with drive and ambition.

As a college student and an individual I want to be able to have it all. I want to work, learn and be able to have stable relationships with friends, family, and significant others. In order to be successful in all these fields you must have drive and most of all great time management….Drive is on my side but time management not so much.

Within the last couple of years, I the over achiever have been overwhelmed with life. I have had unfortunate events occur that have thrown me for a loop. I am sure you all know the feeling…needless to say not a great one. I have also had wonderful things occur such as the birth of a baby cousin or graduating with my bachelors.

I have attained great jobs and internships and sometimes I had interviews that did not go well. I thought I found love at one time but had to deal with the reality of heartbreak. I have the best family in the world but at times they drive me insane. I have an amazing best friend but I also lost a lot of friends on the way. I have high hopes for everyone that crosses my path but sometimes those hopes get shattered along the way. I am my biggest critic but I am also my own biggest fan.

Life is something that should never be taken for granted. It is both beautiful and messy at the same time. It has taken me a while to realize that I am exactly where I am meant to be.Each occurrence has made me the person I am today. It has guided me to the place I am today. Life will always bring about change and I will always question it.At the same time I will also learn to except it, learn from it, and grow from it.

We are all meant to be where we are today and if we do not like where the direction of life is going… be the change you wish to see in your own life and in the world around us. Be the writer of your own story and never take anything you go through for granted.

Leave a Reply

