What’s up with Football Season??!

Football Season is on, and the level of testosterone is high in the air. Last night my co-workers and I all gathered to a sports bar for a night out, it was the first time for me in a sports bar, and the first time hanging out with them outside of work. Why a sports bar? It is one of their local hang out place, and drinks are cheap but mainly because a game was on—the New York Jets were playing against Miami Dolphins.

By the way, if you haven’t paid attention to today’s date, yesterday was a Sunday night, and the bar was packed. Every move made by the players, good or bad, cheers, screams, boo’s, sobs, laughs, curses, anything you could think of was loudly expressed in the bar by mostly Jets Fans. But my point is, when commercials were on, people were drinking, and drinking, or laughing, and drinking and sometimes eating. No one paid attention to the advertisings—except me perhaps, who only pays attention to the ads and not the game. A couple heads would turn back to the big giant screens hung on the walls to check whether the game was back on or not.

So some of my questions are:

1)   What are the percentage of people watching the football games in a) bar b) friend’s or relatives’ residence c) their own residence?

2)   Is the statistic the same for/during the Superbowl? Are people more likely to watch the Superbowl at home or out-of-home?

With advertisers and marketers spending millions to speak and attract their target audience, especially during the Superbowl, it shows how important this market is. And clearly, the college football audience is large, but how much does this media buy affects the market share increase?

On a interesting note, one gender stereotype that was debunked during this football season is that women are not football fans. Totally untrue from personal experience; my coworker N. is from the South (Florida) and a hardcore Football Fans. And while working, she keeps checking the games and scores on her phone, not to forget, expresses “her opinions” out loudly.  And I guess that is the market segmentation Febreze is going after as the Official Sponsor of the NFL. Turns out that, according to the Nielsen, one third of the viewing audience for the 2009 season for a typical NFL game were women. And the ratio of women in that bar last night was almost equal to men.

Oh yeah, and the Jets had a 31-23 win over Miami Dolphins. =)

4 Comments Add yours

  1. gabrielleslow says:

    I watched the Dolphin/Jets game last night at my friends house, after watching an entire day of football!!!

    Who wants to be left out on game day? Not me!! If you can’t beat them … join them/drink with them/eat with them!!

    1. Alana says:

      Football is fun! I was a cheerleader for 13 yrs and Football was always my favorite sport to cheer for. I have to admit, I usually don’t watch Football unless I’m catching my cousin’s game (yes, he’s in the NFL). I usually start to tune in during the playoffs and I definitely watch the Super Bowl. I never pay attention to the commercials unless I have to report on Super Bowl commercials for class. But, I don’t watch commercial’s any other time either.

  2. Ed Speno says:

    Great post Stephanie. (My name’s Edward, I was in last semester’s Social Media class under the Great Prof. Scheckel)
    Your observations about the NFL were right on target. And your points are interesting. I never would have guessed that women made up a third of the NFL viewership on an average Sunday! When I imagine the NFL television audience, I imagine basements full of husky, hairy men feasting on wings and cold beer. Fathers, sons, brother’s. The boys! You could even say that football is a popular escape for many men from the wrath of the female. An afternoon of not caring how you smell, look, or react to any other mental stimuli beyond a 40 inch Liquid Crystal screen. Sacred, ritualistic male territory.
    But anyone who thinks that way about modern football is totally off. This isn’t your grandfather’s NFL.
    My sister and parents called me on speaker phone Saturday afternoon, from my hometown in south Florida, where that very night in Miami those New York Jets you mentioned played my Miami Dolphins. I hear my sister pleading in the background, “Dad, can you please get tickets for me and my boyfriend to go to the Dolphin’s game”. I said wait…excuse me? Since when does Lauren care about football whatsoever, never mind begging my dad for tickets? She usually fights like hell to change the channel every time I put a game on. Her reply: “I’m a Mark Sanchez fan Ed!”.
    I was busy watching football, but I quickly explained to her that our family is a Dolphins family. And that it’s very, very bad to have a crush on your arch rival team’s quaterback. Granted, this could be an exceptional situation, with Mark Sanchez being a player who attracts alot of female attention to the game for reasons that have nothing to do with his football skills. But it made your post resonate even more. And I too would be interested finding out how the audience changes from TV to the stadium.
    All in all, I continue to see girls caring more and more about football, rooting for certain players, and really just wanting to be included in the excitement of NFL Sundays. The NFL even launched a clothing and apparel line designed exclusively for women!
    You have a keen eye miss. You’ll rock at advertising.

  3. asliparlak says:

    I’m a big fan of soccer which is also “not for women” sport. I have soo many female friends that are interested in football and soccer, when I see them cheering they become a totally different people:) And yeah non of them are paying attention to the commercials!

Leave a Reply

